Breakfast at Bello Cafe, Kiulap

Let us start with a fun fact about myself! 😊 I actually don’t like eggs. I don’t like the smell, the colour nor the texture. 😅 But here’s the real kicker… 👀

There will be that rare occasion where I actually crave for poached eggs (whereas on a normal day, my tummy would turn at the sight of egg yolk spilling all over the food 😖 ).

And today, was that rare occasion.

We decided on Bello as we wanted to look at Alluyya afterwards, which is a store in the same building that sells Naelofar hijabs… -because guilty as charged, we wanted to get the Warda collection 😂  (anyone who watches Suri Hati Mr Pilot would get this).

FullSizeRender_3.jpg
Eggs Royale ($9.80)

The Eggs Royale consists of 2 poached eggs with sautéed mushrooms, spinach & smoked salmon, drizzled with hollandaise sauce.

In terms of presentation -& I have to be honest here- I was quite disappointed. 😕 It did not look as appetizing as in the menu… but it tasted all the same.

The eggs were nicely seasoned, the bread was served hot & the salad was crisp & fresh. 😌 👌 However, the balsamic vinegar that they used for the salad was a bit too sweet for my liking. There were only 4 tiny pieces of sautéed mushrooms under each egg & a little patch of spinach. Hm, I would have enjoyed my breakfast more if they gave more of the spinach & mushrooms.

FullSizeRender_1.jpg

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

FullSizeRender_4.jpg
Ooo… look at that yolk oozing out!
FullSizeRender.jpg
Bello Set 2 ($5.80)

Bello Set 2 consists of choice of eggs, chicken sausages (which were really REALLY GOOD), crispy beef rashers, baked beans & toast. You have to add on 80¢ for butter & $1 for sautéed mushrooms.

Mama chose half boiled eggs as her choice of eggs. They were just nice, a bit watery, as how real Kopitiam styled half boiled eggs should be.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Finally, we ended with a dessert. I mean we had to.  As in my opinion, no trip to Bello is official if you don’t order their MELT-IN-YOUR-MOUTH CHOCOLATE LAVE PUDDING. 

THIS, I can say with complete confidence is my ULLLLLTIMATE recommend!  😍 😍 😍

FullSizeRender_4.jpg
Melt-in-your-mouth Chocolate Lava Pudding ($5)

A tight contender for molten lava would definitely be Yugo Desserts. However, Yugo keeps their cake in the ramekin, so you don’t get to see the magic of that hot chocolate fudge flowing beautifully out of your cake the moment your spoon breaks into it. I mean, the whole point of the dessert being called Lava cake is to show that.

In addition, Yugo’s cake is much softer whereas Bello’s has that crunchy top that I love so much. So, if you like Yugo’s molten lava, you should owe it yourself to try out Bello’s & see which for yourself is the true winner. For me, it’s Bello. 🏆 🏅

IMG_5826.JPG
This gets me ALL the time!

Gosh! 😱  I know I had this recently, but looking back at the picture, I just want to eat it again! 😩

Bello is quite a popular place but for those who have yet to try out the cafe, it is sort of a modern chic & high end, Asian Western fusion kind of cafe. It is quite small so it won’t be ideal to bring a big group of people but it is a nice environment to catch up with a friend over high tea or to do your work, since wifi is provided as well.

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

articlesBello_Cafe_(1).transformed.jpg

You can find Bello at L1/12, Ground Floor of Seri Q-Lap Mall. Open daily except Sunday, 9 am – 10 pm.

or at the brand new D&T Building, Simpang 32-37, Anggerek Desa. Open daily except Sunday, 7.30 am – 6.30 pm.

x

Leave a Reply

