The Healthy Habit, Kiulap

First of all, Happy New Year to all of my lovely readers! 🎉  May 2017 bring more joy and many more blessings for all of us. 😊

Some people do not believe in New Years Resolution, mostly because they never meet their goals in the end… But I think goal setting is an important aspect in our lives- because at least we try to do something different.

My 2017 New Years Resolution is to TRY to eat clean/healthy & AS IF it was the Universe’s way of helping me achieve that, I found out that a new restaurant opened a few days ago (2nd Jan) which offers healthy & organic options. 😱  It was about time that there was something else besides Energy Kitchen!

I arranged for lunch with another friend of mine who is health conscious, herself- so I was sure she would appreciate the clean & green food we were about to have.

DSC02720.JPG

Location: Block A, Setia Kenangan II, Kiulap

Same row with WoMen Hair Salon, O’Tacos, Wayback Burgers & Nolly Books. It is one of the earlier shops along the row.

Open Monday – Thursday, 10 am – 10 pm

Friday – Sunday, 9 am – 11:30 pm

DSC02722.JPG

DSC02723.JPG

Upon entering, we were hit with the scent of fresh fruits & washed vegetables- Oh, what a heavenly smell it was!  🍉🍊😍🍍🍓 And this was because their juicing bar was situated right by the door (as seen in the picture above). They also sold organic teas & bread spreads such as strawberry jam & peanut butter on the shelves. There were a few seats downstairs, maybe just 3 tables beyond the bar, but as it was quite a small & secluded space, we decided to sit upstairs at the Coffee Habit (they are essentially the same restaurant, just that they sell coffee as well).

DSC02726.JPG

DSC02730.JPG

DSC02736.JPG

My friend & I were lucky that we came just in time to snatch the last available table as every other table had a ‘Reserved’ sign. Within minutes, the place was buzzing with people! Most of the people who came were young working people & groups of friends. The dining furniture upstairs consisted of 3 wooden tables with matching chairs versus armchairs & coffee tables. When eating, I prefer a leveled table where I can comfortably eat my food in front of me without having to slouch over so I opted for the table.

DSC02733.JPG

The first thing that caught my eye was this artwork, which has got to be The Healthy Habit’s trademark. I could not help but mention to my friend that the interior design of The Healthy Habit reminded me of High Frequency or Alter Ego, but I did not have the pleasure to ask a staff member if The Healthy Habit had the same owner. You will see what I mean when you decide to pay The Healthy Habit a visit.

DSC02728.JPG
The cake selection

They served Matcha Cheesebar, Tiramisu, Hokkaido Tart, Latte Tart and the Toasts on the bottom shelf (salmon cream cheese, salmon avocado smash, banana almond butter & chia seeds and peanut butter blueberry)

DSC02738.JPG
Berry Banana Smoothie Bowl ($5.50)

Ummi -that’s my friend, ordered the Berry Banana Smoothie Bowl which is unsweetened almond milk, vanilla yoghurt, banana, strawberries & blueberries whisked together & topped with fresh fruit. It sounds mouth watering doesn’t it? I was going to order this but she beat me to it! 😩 And no, they did not serve the smoothie bowls in coconut husks like they did on Instagram… 😅

Her review, ” A BERRY delicious bowl of smoothie!” -Yes, she actually said that. 🙂

“Lovely combination of berries. It is quite rich in its flavour & the toppings of pumpkin seeds, cornflakes & dried bananas gave the nice crunchy touch to it.” 👍

DSC02741.JPG
Green Smoothie Bowl ($5.50)

I ordered the green smoothie bowl which is banana, avocado, blueberries, spinach & kale blended together with unsweetened almond milk topped with goji berries & granola.

The goji berries & granola bits were a bit overwhelming to me & hard to chew, so that was the only thing that I did not like but when I tasted the smoothie itself, my-oh-MY, was this good. 😍 It had a really strong taste of banana (& I like bananas 🍌 ).

For mains, I already had one dish of theirs in my mind prior to coming over. This was because as I was looking through their Instagram, this particular picture grabbed my eye.

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 11.58.04 AM.png
Almond Crusted Salmon with Sweet Potato Mash ($9). Credits: @thehealthyhabit.bn

However, when my dish arrived, it appeared much smaller than I expected.

DSC02752.JPG
Almond Crusted Salmon with Sweet Potato Mash ($9)
DSC02750.JPG
Flatlay Version

I quite enjoyed the sides as the steamed vegetables were soft & the sweet potato mash was just nice, maybe a bit sweet for others who are not used to sweet potato & I could taste that there may have been zero to minimal salt in it.

I would have liked for the almond crust to be crunchier, so it could do with a bit more time on the pan, so as to make the salmon skin crispy as well. But the salmon itself was nicely cooked as it was still moist when I cut into the flesh so it was not dry nor flaky. Well done on the salmon! 👏🏼 👏🏼

To add a bit of variety (because Ummi actually wanted to order the salmon as well), she opted for the chicken version.🍗

DSC02748.JPG
Almond Crusted Chicken Dippers with Sweet Potato Mash ($7)

Her review: “The dish is quite healthy, meaning to say that it is ultimately plain. The sweet potato mash potato could use a little bit of salt & the chicken could be more crunchy/crispy on the outside. The chicken dippers I had were quite soggy/mushy on the outside.”

DSC02744.JPG
Watermelon Limeade & Dairy Free Pina Colada  ($5 each)

For drinks, I ordered the Watermelon Limeade which is watermelon, fresh mint leaves & lime. The mint leaves & lime gave me the refreshing kick I needed. I was not keen on the watermelon mix but I got used to it the more I drank my cold pressed juice. I would probably order something else.

Ummi ordered the Dairy Free Pina Colada. Her review: “The Pina Colada is good, well blended & the flavour is just right, not too sweet & balanced.”

In terms of service, our smoothie bowls & drinks came quick. Our mains took a longer time, but this just gave us more time to finish our smoothie bowls.

Would I come again? Yes, I would! Definitely to try the salads & other smoothie bowls such as the Mango Pineapple or the Strawberries and Cream smoothie bowls, next time around.

Leave a Reply

