BREW Cafe & Bakery Brunei 🥖 🥐 🍞

BREW Cafe & Bakery has always been one of the cafes that I have been wanting to visit, ever since I heard of its makeover/rebranding from Mr Baker’s Bakeshop in 2015. So today, with the help of a good friend to accompany me along with perfect timing (as both of our schedules were clear), I was able to tick BREW off my list. ✅

If you do not know, Mr Baker’s Bakeshop has been known for putting a great emphasis on health by serving freshly made & high quality artisanal bread without any artificial dough improvers/preservatives added, resulting to an overall tastier bread. So when I heard that this healthy bakery was expanding to the coffee & cafe scene, I was intrigued to see how they would keep their healthy concept & following my visit today, I can tell you that I was not disappointed. 😊

DSC02995.JPG
Still identified as Mr. Baker’s Cafeteria from the car view.

Location: Gadong Central, next to Yong Clinic, same row with Buon Gusto (yet another place I would like to try) & Sushi Teh

Open Daily, 7 AM – 10 PM

Closed on Friday from 12 PM to 2 PM for Friday Prayers

Telephone 📞  : 2427554

Instagram: brewcafebakery


  • INTERIOR DESIGN ☕️

DSC02997.JPG

DSC02999.JPG

DSC03034.JPG
Upon entering the cafe & having an overall snapshot of the place, we were visually pleased  with the interior decor.
DSC03033.JPG
The cafe played soft jazz in the background which gave a positive, feel good vibe & relaxing ambience.👍🏼

“When you feel like quitting, think about why you started.” 

-When I saw this quote, I couldn’t help but to think back to a newspaper article written about Mr Baker himself, highlighting his struggles in opening a healthy bakery (Mr Baker) & how he even contemplated closing down the business, but ever since he opened the Brew Cafe, business has been improving greatly.

DSC03029.JPG
The bakery serves a variety of bread ranging from Sourdough, Ciabatta, Sovital, Low Gi, croissants, muffins, doughnuts, cookies etc.

DSC03030.JPG

DSC03032.JPG
You can tell that the interior design was carefully picked & well thought through, even by looking at the differently shaped lamps.

The baristas were very friendly, & as you can see in the picture , one even posed for the camera, saying, “put it on Instagram, alright!” Well, let me do you one better & feature you in my blog! 😜

DSC03028.JPG

DSC03037.JPG
The high tables at the back of the room provide a good space for people to come by with their laptops to do their school/office work.
DSC03021.JPG
While the lounge chairs offer a nice spot to sit back & read a good book or have a more casual sit down with friends.

DSC03023.JPG

Both my friend & I could not stop gushing on how much we liked the interior design of the cafe 😍 & agreed that it was quite cosy as well as customer friendly. My friend who went to the place when it was still Mr Baker before, even highlighted on the dark & earthy colour tones used for the cafe, as previously the bakery was just plain & white.


  • FOOD
DSC03003.JPG
The Menu was quite extensive serving set breakfasts, sandwiches, wraps, toasts, pancakes, scones, salads, pies, pasta & desserts, smoothies, milkshakes & freshly squeezed juices.
DSC03015.JPG
Smoked Salmon Grilled Cheese ($7.50)

My friend ordered the Smoked Salmon Grilled Cheese which is smoked salmon, tomatoes, mozzarella with hints of rosemary herbs & black pepper with toasted Sourdough bread (extra $1.50).

Her review: It was well worth the price & very filling. The melted mozzarella didn’t overwhelm & complimented the flavour of smoked salmon well.

DSC03008.JPG
Flat White w complimentary Biscotti ($4.80)

Her review: The Flat White wasn’t as strong as I expected or how I am used to but you can definitely taste the earthiness of the coffee grounds they use.

DSC03019.JPG
Banana & Maple Syrup Pancakes ($6.50)

As it was breakfast time (10 am), I originally ordered the Blueberry & Yogurt pancakes but as that was unavailable (& I REALLY wanted pancakes☹️ ), I opted for the Banana & Maple Syrup pancakes instead.

My pancakes arrived visually appetizing, sprinkled with cinnamon powder & crushed walnuts on top.

Personal preference, I honestly do not like cinnamon but the combination of cinnamon, maple syrup & bananas went quite well together😋. The pancakes were fluffy & when I knifed into my pancakes, there were more pieces of chopped banana inside the pancakes which I think gave the flavoring, which is good, as that would mean that they did not use banana essence/extract & kept it more natural. #healthy

DSC03017.JPG
Mocha w complimentary Biscotti ($5)

The Mocha to me was quite mild, more milky & lacked that bitter coffee taste that I like, however I was still buzzing on caffeine for the rest of the day.

 

DSC03039.JPG
Creamy Fettuccini ($8.90)

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

DSC03044.JPG
*MAJOR RECOMMEND*

As both my friend & I stayed until late afternoon, we decided to order for lunch.

The Creamy Fettuccini is ‘housemade from scratch’ fettuccini pasta with lemon & garlic sauce, beef bacon with complimentary toasted sourdough bread. This dish has no salt (REALLY!), no msg & no chicken stock added.

I was quite pleased to get to try Brew’s famous, naturally fermented, zero yeast added & hand kneaded sourdough bread & I have to agree that it was quite tasty.

My friend’s review on the pasta dish: The portion is good & you can definitely taste the lemon & garlic in the cream sauce. Other than the pasta being slightly overcooked, the overall dish was great. 

At first, we thought that the portion was a bit small but considering that it was cream based (so it would be very filling, very fast), the portion was just nice & we were able to finish our pasta. The lemon & garlic sauce was the gold mine to me, together with the beef bacon, hence why I would recommend this dish to anyone coming to Brew.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at Brew & would definitely come again just to try out the other dishes such as (recommended by others) croissants, chicken pie & decker sandwiches.

I for one, would certainly put Brew up there in my list of favourite cafes (especially for light breakfast or high tea) here. 😊

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Thank you for the review. We hope you had a great time in BREW and we look forward to serving you again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

